Rainbow Falls (Waianiwaniwa)

The Rainbow Falls are located on the Kerikeri river near Kerikeri city. Unlike most New Zealand waterfalls which are created by the erosion of soft rock, the Rainbow Falls are sited on a hard basalt layer of rock beside softer mudstone. The high is 27 metre.  


The largest city in Northland, home of the oldest building in the country. The village was founded by pioneering missionaries from New Zealand, who named it Gloucester Town, but the name was changed.

Kerikeri was the first place in New Zealand where vines were planted. On September 25, 1819, Samuel Marsden planted 100 vineyards. In the same year, Charlotte Kemp planted the first citrus and in 1927 the first commercial planting of passionfruits was established. Around 1932, the first avocado was planted.

Stone Store

The oldest preserved stone building in New Zealand. The stone shop was built between 1832 and 1836 by a bricklayer, William Parrott, a carpenter, Ben Nesbitt and a team of Maori people. The building was made of sandstone from Australia, local volcanic rocks and fired the mortar.

Mission House

The house was completed in 1822 as part of the Kerikeri Mission Station and is the oldest surviving New Zealand building. Some people know this building as Kemp House. It was built mainly of kauri trees. On June 23, 1983, he was added to the list of historic sites in New Zealand.

Honey House Café

During travelling, we always have to stop at a cafe. And thanks to the design, great coffee and menu, we came across a great place again 🙂


The city is located in the Bay of Islands area of Northland. It is known mainly due to the fact that the “Declaration of Independence” of New Zealand was signed here on October 28, 1835. This document was ratified by the British Crown the following year (1836). Five years later, in 1840, the “Treaty of Waitangi” was signed here.

Declaration of Independence

The Declaration of Independence of New Zealand (Maori: On Wakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tireni), was signed by several Maori chiefs in 1835, and it declared the sovereign independence of New Zealand before the signing of the “Treaty of Waitangi” in 1840.

The declaration arose in response to concerns about the illegality of British entities in New Zealand and in response to concerns that France would declare sovereignty over the islands.

The signatories sent a copy of the document to King William IV. (he ruled from 1830 to 1837) and was asked to act as the protector of the new state. The declaration was not well received by the colonial authority, and it was decided that a new policy for New Zealand was necessary as a remedy.

There is some debate as to whether the statement had any legal effect in New Zealand. Most legal commentators claim that the claim to independence lasted only until the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi in 1840, and consider the “Declaration of Independent” to be a historical document that no longer has legal force.

The “Declaration of Independent” is on display at the National Library of New Zealand as part of the He Tohu exhibition, along with the Waitangi Agreement and the Women’s Prosecution Petition of 1893.

Treaty of Waitangi

The Treaty of Waitangi (Maori: Te Tiriti o Waitangi) is a treaty first signed on February 6, 1840 by representatives of the British Crown and Maori chiefs from the North Island of New Zealand. It became a document of central importance to history, the political constitution of the state of New Zealand, and played a major role in building political relations between the New Zealand government and the Maori population, especially from the late 20th century.

The treaty was written at a time when British colonists and New Zealand society was putting pressure on the British crown to establish a colony on the NZ. At the same time, the Maori asked the British for protection from French invasions. The intention was to elect a British governor of the NZ, to recognize Maori property and to give to British colonists the Maori rights.

New Zealand´s government declared the day of signing the “Treaty of Waitangi” a public holiday in 1974.

In the following article, we will move to the town of Paihia, on the way we will pass the city of Kawakawa and we will end another section of our journey in Mangawhai

Categories: Blog